Tom Bowen
Tom Bowen
 
Tom Bowen

Development of the Bowen-Technique

Tom Bowen developed the method known today as Bowen® technology in Geelong, Victoria / Australia. After serving in World War II, Bowen's interest in alleviating the pain of suffering people grew. He noticed that certain manual movements and grips had a special effect on certain parts of the body.

Tom Bowen was convinced that functional disorders of the body resulted from disorders in the tissue. Initiating structural and related functional integration of this dynamic system is therefore the key to the effectiveness of Bowen® of the original Bowen® technology.

Tom Bowen developed his method, as it is practiced today, without training in the field of health care: he attributed his therapeutic work to a gift from God. Tom Bowen finally opened his own full-day clinic. A Victorian government survey of alternative occupational medicine in 1975 found that Tom Bowen treated approximately 13,000 clients per year (based on a 27-week period).

In 1974, Tom Bowen invited Mr. Oswald Rentsch and his wife Elaine to study his method for the next two and a half years. Until then, Tom Bowen had no notes, graphics, or manuals about his work.

Under his leadership, the Rentsch couple observed and documented the Bowen® technology. This documentation was then recognized by Tom Bowen himself and also by his assistant, Ms. Rene Horwood, and authorized as a truthful reproduction of the original Bowen® technology. It was agreed that the Rentsch couple would only teach the technique after Tom Bowen's death.

Tom Bowen
Tom Bowen
 
Tom Bowen

Entwicklung der Bowen-Technik

Tom Bowen entwickelte die heute als Bowen®-Technik bekannte Methode in Geelong, Victoria/Australien. Nach seiner Dienstzeit im Zweiten Weltkrieg wuchs Bowens Interesse, die Schmerzen leidender Menschen zu lindern. Er bemerkte, dass gewisse manuelle Bewegungen und Griffe an bestimmten Stellen des Körpers eine besondere Wirkung erzielten. 

Tom Bowen war überzeugt, dass Funktionsstörungen des Körpers aus Störungen im Gewebe resultieren. Strukturelle und damit verbundene funktionale Integration dieses dynamischen Systems zu initiieren, ist daher der Schlüssel zur Wirkung von Bowen® der Originalen Bowen®-Technik.


Tom Bowen entwickelte seine Methode, wie sie heute praktiziert wird, ohne Ausbildung im Bereich des Gesundheitswesens: er schrieb sein therapeutisches Wirken einem Geschenk Gottes zu. Tom Bowen eröffnete schließlich seine eigene Klinik im Ganztagesbetrieb. Eine Untersuchung der viktorianischen Regierung über alternative Berufsmediziner aus dem Jahre 1975 belegt, dass Tom Bowen rund 13.000 Klienten pro Jahr (basierend auf Angaben über eine Zeitspanne von 27 Wochen) behandelte. 


Im Jahre 1974 lud Tom Bowen Herrn Oswald Rentsch und seine Frau Elaine für die nächsten zweieinhalb Jahre zum Studium seiner Methode ein. Bis dahin führte Tom Bowen weder Notizen, graphische Darstellungen, noch Handbücher über seine Arbeit. 

Unter seiner Führung beobachtete und dokumentierte das Ehepaar Rentsch die Bowen®-Technik Anschließend wurde diese Dokumentation von Tom Bowen selbst und auch von seiner Assistentin, Frau Rene Horwood, anerkannt und als wahrheitsgetreue Wiedergabe der Original Bowen®-Technik autorisiert. Es wurde vereinbart, dass das Ehepaar Rentsch die Technik erst nach dem Tod von Tom Bowen unterrichten würde. 

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now